NhN: Where Do I Start?

Neighbors helping Neighbors

It has always been my passion to help those in need, but if there is anyone like me, many times I don’t have enough money to make a difference.  However, I can donate time, help swing a hammer, help haul materials, and even afford small amounts of $50, but even that will not solve most problems.  BUT, if many with similar interest and like donations come together locally, we can make a difference in our communities.

  • How Do I Bring People Together?

Aside from a descent website, I’ll need the force of social media to market and communicate the cause.  For the purpose of this blog, I decided to compare and contrast social media forums Twitter and Tumblr to determine the impact and usefulness of these tools.

  • What is Twitter?

Twitter is a real-time online social network with small 140 character posts called Tweets used to share news, pictures, ideas, videos, opinions, and blogs .  It is comprised of people or organizations one can follow, and be followed.  The good thing about Twitter is followers and following is by choice dependent on like interests or opinions. 

  • What is Tumblr?

Tumblr is similar to Twitter in that you can post the same content, but there is no character limit and it is just as fast to communicate as Twitter.  To many, it is more of a blog forum.  With Tumblr, you can create a Tumblr page showing all your interests and comments, whereas, Twitter only allows a small limited text profile. 

  • Is there a difference in Audience

Both tools provide the option to choose followers and be chosen; however from my experience, there appears to be a difference in audience.  Tumblr seems to consist more of a younger group sharing opinions, pictures, and videos of their life’s experiences or beliefs, whereas, Twitter consist of an older group with Tweets of advice, business experience, marketing solutions, and news forums. 

  • Followers

When searching for followers of like interest, for example, #charity #peoplehelpingpeople, Twitter has more followers to choose from.  I was surprised to see the lack of options in Tumblr.  If I were to target helping teens with cyber bullying or threats of suicide, Tumblr would be the perfect place to offer assistance.  Tumblr may also be a good place to find volunteers, but parents would need to be involved and share the same passion.  I probably wouldn’t find many volunteers using Tumblr with trade skills like plumbing, carpentry, or auto mechanics, so Twitter would be the better option for this kind of search.   

  • Who is Following ME?

To be followed on Twitter or Tumblr, it is assumed one would use the same process as you and search for like interests; however, that’s not been entirely the case with Twitter.  I’ve only been using Twitter for about a month now and I’m up to 46 followers; many with similar interest, but about ¼ with nothing in common. I read an article in the TNW by Lauren Hockenson about people selling and buying “quality Twitter followers” to boost their numbers which in turn gives the impression of high influence or popularity. That’s somewhat weird and beyond the intent, but the groundswell is an undefined entityWith regards to Tumblr, I’ve only been using this tool for about a week and haven’t received one request.  I suppose I need to work more at posting more and sharing my passions of helping people to gain a following

  • The World is My Platform

Twitter and Tumblr both provide an unlimited world platform so my messages and post can be seen and responded to from anyone in the world.  Marketing the cause is faster and easier using social media than convention ways of using newspapers, direct mail, or email blasts.  With Tumblr, I can post a video or pictures directly which helps attract activity.  I can’t do the same with Twitter.  I would have to create a catchy phrase to attract activity and provide a link with my pictures and videos.  I can post testimonials on Tumblr with unlimited character requirements, but not with Twitter because of the 140 character limitations.  Nevertheless, I still need to consider the audience and who will most likely read my posts and Tweets. 

               

Sources:

https://twitter.com/about

http://www.tumblr.com/about

http://thenextweb.com/twitter/2012/12/15/fake-followers-an-easy-game-but-not-worth-the-risk/

4 thoughts on “NhN: Where Do I Start?

  1. I like how you have compared Twitter and Tumblr. My observation is that Tumblr is for the younger crowd, perhaps in an effort to stay ahead of their parents who are no all over Facebook. Tumblr does seemed geared for more multimedia posts than the primarily text-based focused of Twitter.

    It is interesting that you can buy followers. As noted by Mark Schaefer, author of The Tao of Twitter, buying Twitter followers is a scam called GFF or Get Followers Fast (Schaefer, 2012). The reason being is that using social media tools like Twitter should be to establish relationships that ultimately provide some benefit to your business. Having 60,000 paid for Twitter followers that are either not real or interested in your message will provide no business benefit.

    References
    Schaefer, M. (2012). The tao of twitter. New York, NY: McGrawHill

  2. I appreciate the information about Twitter (which I was aware of) and Tumblr (which I don’t really know anything about). I am following you now because I believe in your cause and maybe somehow I can help out. Thank you for the great information and I wish you well. May God bless you and lead you in this endeavor.

  3. I really liked the information that you have posted and I do believe in what your trying to do! I am on twitter and have many followers. Its amazing the kinds of accounts that can be found on the network, you can practically find anything on it. Before reading this I knew nothing about Tumblr and only really heard little about it. I find it to be better that Tumblr doesn’t have a character limit unlike Twitter. I have been on social media for quite sometime and after reading some of groundswell and Tao of twitter, its amazing what I still don’t know about social media as a whole. Helping others is a great thing and I try to help others whenever I can.

  4. Every little bit helps when it comes to figuring out the way social media tools are best applied. It is has been reported and of course is an accepted fact that we humans only use a fraction of our brains. Without seeing a report, I know for a fact that I only use social media to a fraction of it’s potential. Why? Ignorance. All of our blogs this past week unlocked the SM potential a little bit more. I wasn’t aware of the generational attraction involved when speaking of Tumblr and Twitter, however, this demographical statistic seems to be well worth paying attention to now and in the future when one is looking to get the most out of their SM campaign. Thanks…Larry.

Leave a Reply

